Finalists of the first-ever Cyber OSPAs announced

Cyber professionals from around the world gathered today at International Cyber Expo for the revealing of the finalists of the inaugural Cyber Outstanding Security Performance Awards (Cyber OSPAs).

The awards were launched earlier this year to recognise the outstanding contribution organisations, people and technology are making to protect society from all areas of cybercrime globally.

Professor Martin Gill, founder of the awards said: ‘We were astounded from the response we received, especially in the first year; nominations were received from far-reaching countries including, Australia, Belgium, Egypt, Germany, India, Ireland, Malaysia, Romania, USA, UAE and UK.’  Gill further added ‘The judges had a difficult job in scoring the many entries as the competition was very high, and I am very grateful to every one of them who gave up their time.  And those that have been selected as finalists should feel very proud.’

The finalists now go forward to the next phase of the competition and winners will be revealed at a free to attend virtual awards show which will be streamed live on 14th December 2021.

The finalists are:

Outstanding Chief Information Security Officer

Ian Bishop-Laggett – Schroders Personal Wealth

Tony Clarke – Marken

Glen Hymers – Save The Children International

Chris Richards – AWE

Marc S. Sokol – Citi

Outstanding Cyber Security Professional 

Adel Abdel Moneim – International Telecommunication Union

Daniel Berry – Claremont

Stuart Coppard – Kier Group

Alex Costinean – Reliance ACSN

Gary Gaskell – Infosec Services Pty Ltd

Shahul Hameed Rahamathullah – Department Culture and Tourism, Abu Dhabi

Anna B – AWE

Ashish Mehta – Genese Incubation Management

Lee Rendell – Kaspersky

Sameer Saxena – Inspira Enterprise India Limited

Outstanding Cyber Security Team

AWE Active Cyber Defence Team

CyberQ Group Global Cyber Team

Cyber Security Center of Excellence – Government of West Bengal, India

Cyber Smart Defence Ethical Hackers Team – Cyber Smart Defence SRL

Marken Information Security Team

Schroders Personal Wealth Information Security Team

SecuriGroup Cyber Security Team

UTHSC Office of Cybersecurity Team

Outstanding Cyber Security Consultant

Sameep Agarwal – Mahindra Defence System Ltd

Madalin Dumitru – Cyber Smart Defence SRL

Vineet Love – Accenture Canada

Oscar O’Connor – Oscar O’Connor & Co

Cyber Security Center of Excellence – Government of West Bengal, India

Jose Vieira – Reliance ACSN

Peter Yapp – Schillings International

Outstanding Customer Service Initiative

Cyber Security Center of Excellence – Government of West Bengal, India

iSTORM® Privacy – Security – Pentesting

Outstanding Cyber Security Training/Awareness Initiative

Laura Cowie and Grahame Mace – Cyber Protect Unit – Devon and Cornwall Police

Fabian Cholewa – RWE AG


Covea Insurance Training and Awareness Initiative

Cyber Security Center of Excellence, Government of West Bengal, India

Oxford Nanopore Technologies’ cyber and privacy awareness programme

NPCC National Cybercrime Programme

Romanian Association for Information Security Assurance

SSE Security Culture Programme

Schroders Personal Wealth Cyber Security Awareness Programme

Outstanding Cyber Security Partnership 

AWE & F-Secure

Cyber Security Center of Excellence – Government of West Bengal, India

North East Business Resilience Centre

Office for Nuclear Regulation Cyber Security and Information Assurance Specialism in partnership with Ascentor and Leonardo

Outstanding Police/Law Enforcement Initiative

Cyber Griffin – City of London Police

Cyber Security Center of Excellence – Government of West Bengal, India

NPCC National Cybercrime Programme – Police CyberAlarm

Police Scotland

Outstanding Young Cyber Security Professional

Joseph DeMars – Millennium Space Systems 

Sarah Norman-Clarke – Department for Transport

Promathes Mandal – Cyber Security Center of Excellence, Government of West Bengal, India 

Praveen Nair – Carsome

Frank Plummer – Mayden

Callum Ring – Penguin Random House UK

Scott S – AWE

Vikram Sokhi – Thames Water

Joseph Wise – SASIG

Outstanding New Cyber Security Product

Battle Fortress – RangeForce 

CodeSentry – GrammaTech

Deduce Customer Alerts – Deduce

eAccess – Accessium UK

Ermetic Cloud Security Platform – Ermetic

GRAYPATH – Intelligent Waves LLC

Hypori Inc.

Maverics Identity Orchestration Platform™ – Strata Identity 

NetAccess – NetAbstraction

TrueFort Fortress Microsegmentation for CrowdStrike – TrueFort

Lifetime Achievement to be awarded at the event on 14th December. 

Sponsorship opportunities are available for the event and can be viewed here